Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 10-14-2010, 12:59 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 235/235/145

Height: 5'6

Default newbie trying to physic herself up to start new diet. Ideas?

Hey guys! I'm a newbie in need of advise. I'm getting married on Oct. 15th of next year and it's very important to me that i lose weight for the big day but it still hasn't been enough to motivate me off the couch yet. I have a million great reasons why i want to and should lose weight, but when it comes right down to it, i still opt for the TV/couch combo over sit ups and walks. Is there any one else out there who has a tendency to lean towards procrastination and being lazy? And if so how did you beat those impulses into submission and start making the necessary changes to get on track?
whodunit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 01:15 AM   #2  
Cookie

S/C/G: 88.0/83.7/63

Height: 170cm

It is a decision.
Getting started is the first decision
But
Every single workout, every single mouthful is a decision.
It is a decision not to let setbacks make you quit.
After a while it does become a habit and it's easier.
Look for any victory, not just scale and size victory... for victories in making healthy decisions.
Making it a priority in your day will mean you can procrastinate later.
As someone here said... it is part of their morning routine... just like it's routine to shower, brush hair, brush teeth, have coffee... it is routine to get half an hour exercise every morning - if that is yoga, or walking or sit ups.
Cookc04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 01:20 AM   #3  
patience and perseverance

S/C/G: 198/ticker/125

Height: 5'3"

Welcome!

My advice ~ stop thinking of it as a diet and start thinking of it as your new way of life.

Get your nutrition down first. When you start eating better foods you will have more energy and motivation to get off the couch and exercise.