this can't be right....right?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • I bought a new weighing scales today. It's weighing me at the right weight but it's a body analyser and it's saying my body fat is 24.2% and water is 56%. That CANNOT be right, I mean it's not possible, I'm 5'3 and I weight 236ish....
  • I rather doubt it.
  • As far as the water goes, that is very possible. I'm actually studying for a test on the urinary system right now and a typical woman is about 50% water.
  • I've never trusted those scales... mine gives me a very different reading each time I step on it (even after intervals of just a few seconds).
  • Drina- yeah I wasn't sure about it. But I've checked a few times and it's been the same everytime. weird

KRy172- I should have a much higher fat percentage, so it wouldn't be possible to have a higher total then 100% right?
  • seems really odd if it was true. Did you step on the scale with clean, slightly damp feet? Could make a difference.
  • Maddie: good to hear from you...were you away this weekend or busy?
    How is it going with quitting smoking? The 20 lbs gone is so fantastic.
    I am suspicious about fat percentage, I am the same height as you, and am 33-34% fat on my scale. Have been the same for quite a while.
    have a great week.
  • Not in your wildest dreams!!
  • I think those bf% scales are wildly inaccurate. I just have a regular one and plant to stick to that. I dont need any weird numbers clouding my head. I'd say ignore that part of the scale.
  • I don't usually even look at fat and water on my scale, but I did it last night for a laugh. The figures that came up were 47% fat and 38% water.

I thought you find my numbers interesting as we're almost identical in height and weight. I don't set any store by them, myself. YMMV.
  • DishyFishy- it is always really interesting to meet others with my stats! I dunno why, just knowing someone is where you are!