Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 11-05-2008, 11:15 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 237/165.8/130

Height: 5'4"

Default Eating in Fast Food Places

The last couple of days I've seen a ton of posts about eating in restaurants and especially being in a situation where the only option was some kind of fast food chain. In most of those threads people say they ordered something and then when they got home they were SHOCKED at how many calories they'd eaten. And most of the time they could have done a LOT better by just thinking carefully about what they were ordering and making a few minor changes.

Now my first disclaimer is that if you made one of those posts PLEASE don't think I'm picking on you, cause I'm not. It's just that I've seen enough of these posts recently to think that a .. well a PSA on how to pick the best possible option at a fast food place might be useful.

I've been eating this way for nearly 2 years now and at this point I can go into any fast food place and with a little thought, I can get a meal that doesn't destroy my calorie plan and is even slightly healthy.

So here are my tips and tricks for eating at fast food places.
  • NO FRIES. Ever. I don't care if it's a small, child-size serving. Fries are the tools of Satan when it comes to diet. Potatoes fried in oil? There's no way you can consume fries and come in at a reasonable calorie level.
  • No side orders with creamy dressing. That means side salads with ranch, potato salad, cole slaw, macaroni salad, anything that has a mayonnaise or cream base to it. That's calorie city.
  • No side orders that are starch based. Again, no fries, no potato salad, no macaroni salad, no biscuits, no cornbread.
  • Nothing fried. Even places that are all about fried, like KFC and Chick-fil-a, offer a grilled option for their chicken. If it's breaded and fried, it's going to have lots of calories in it.