Comments

• I work as a nanny for a 2 and 6 year old. The whole family and I were talking last night and the mom meantioned she wants another baby. She has two months to get pregnant because we are moving and you can not find a job as a lawyer while your pregnant so she wants to have one before the move. Well the 6 year old blurts out "Meagan's pregnant", and of course the mom says no I am not and laughs. Well then he goes "she looks like she's pregnant". I could have died! Not because his comments but because he said them in front of his parents (who btw are very fit) and they proceded to make a big deal of it. I know that he didn't mean to be offensive, because he has ADHD and lacks empathy, but at the same time I was hurt. He makes comments like this a lot. If he sees a Jenny Craig commercial about losing 20 lbs during summer he's always telling me that I should do it. It's highly offensive and annoying. I've worked with a lot of kids in the past and he is the only one who comments on my weight. It's highly annoying! I just wanted to rant to get it out of my system!
  • Rant away!

Most kids have ZERO filters on what they say...those get developed later, as we grow older. It is a little embarrassing, but laugh it off...you're on your way to never getting insensitive, annoying (but not intentional!) comments like that again...congrats on the 9 lb lost!
  • Hmm... I know he's just a kid and everything and you said he has some problems, but all the same... you (and his parents too, I assume) don't want him to be the kid at school making the other kids cry with his comments.

What did his parents say to him after he said you were pregnant? Did they just say that it wasn't nice or did they tell him how someone's weight is off-limits and that it's rude to talk about someone else's weight and comment on how someone else looks? It makes people uncomfortable to have others judge them, etc etc...