Calling all shift workers

• I am a nurse who works 12 hour shifts. I find it very hard to eat right at the end of the day and after my shift ends at 7pm. I tendd to plan to eat well and end up binging = fat gain. Does anyone else deal with this problem and what do you do to help? I am not really able to get out between 5 -7pm as this is a very busy time. Thoughts, ideas please.
    Thanks.
  • I'm an office worker, but I have had days in the past (especially during holidays) where we were required to work a ton of overtime. Because I knew about it ahead of time I was able to prepare a HUGE vat of soup ahead of time. I dished it into bowls, and for a few nights ate soup and microwaved up some frozen vegetables. Usually a piece of bread on the side. I was set. You might not be able to have soup every single night, but there's always chili!
  • i'm a nurse too and it sucks - the break room always have junk food, families bring in plates of candy, drug reps bring food....

i dunno what specialty you are - but i work ICU - so i'm always generally in the same spot and can easily leave my bag at my bedside.

so i have a big bag - water bottle, snacks, etc... and i make a point to munch when i remember to throughout the day. i keep the water bottle full and behind the computer so everytime i chart something i remember to take a swig.

every night before working the next day - i pack my lunch box with fruit, yogurt and a sandwich, lean cuisine, - whatever.

i tell myself to eat breakfast before i go to work, and i try not to eat after i get home. i just take my work day like i would at home and eat accordingly. if i dont get my lunch break until late - well, good. i have my snacks in my bag right with me!