Help a pharmacy student!

• I'm cross-posting this with the student thread in the 20something forums.
    I'm a pharmacy student, 23 years old. My course is very demanding, 9am-6pm lectures/labs pretty much every day, with plenty of study required in between. As a result I put back on about 10lb of the 5 stone I lost. (I got down to a weight I was pretty happy with.) I just can't seem to deal with this on the side- I walk an hour and a half every day which does not seem to balance things out. I lost my weight by giving up carbs and being very careful, but reintroduced carbs last summer when I was training for a half marathon and it's proven to be my downfall. I can't seem to kick it and having to think about it on top of everything else is so stressful. I have tons of exams coming up and it's just like...ugh... I don't know how to deal with this.
    Help.
  • Hey! Breathe... it's gonna be okay.

If carbs have proven to be your downfall, have you thought about kicking them for the time being? At least until your exams have been dealt with. You might find it's nice to not have to worry about at least this one thing.

I think the best thing to do might be to focus on simply eating healthier, instead of thinking about the weight... until your exams are over with. I know those can be very stressful.
  • Carbs are the worst... I have a hard time with them, too. But realistically, you can't give them up entirely. Fortunately, some are better than others...

What are the carb foods that tempt you? Can you at least get rid of them, and substitute with better foods? You do have control over which foods are around you and which you choose to eat. For example, if you are eating a lot of cookies, stay away from cookies. Half a slice of whole grain bread would be a better choice. If it's sugar in tea, use a substitute sweetener. Be willing to do what you have to do...