Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 10-15-2007, 04:57 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 124kg(272)/94kg(209)/70kg(154

Height: 5'5"

Default Frustrated - hold the course or mix it up?

I am plagued with very slow weight loss. Over the past 4 months, I've lost an average of less than 1 pound per week. The last 4 weeks there has been no loss. I currently weigh 253. I've lost 18 pounds over the last 6 months.

I have been exercising regularly for 6 months. The last 4 weeks I've increased the intensity of my cardio sessions (3 sessions of 30 minutes on elliptical or treadmill). I also do lap swimming for an hour twice a week, typically do 1 aqua aerobics class (45 minutes), yoga/pilates (3 x 45 minutes) and a month ago started doing strength training 3 times a week for about 20 minutes each session.

I drink 1 & 1/2 to 2 L of water per day. No soda. 2 glasses of wine a week.

I've lost inches - but the pounds are hanging on.

I track my food on fitday and average about 1800 per day, with the split being 40% carbs, 30% protein, 30% fat. I don't eat sugar products and the only 'white' products I eat is a potato most evenings.

I'm 48, had a hysterectomy about 10 years ago, have been overweight forever, and have high blood pressure (controlled with drugs). I'm starting to wonder about insulin resistence and have started doing some reading on it.

I'm just kicking around ideas of what to try to get the weight loss going. Even though everything I read says 1800 calories is a good level for my current weight, should I try and drop it? Or, should I switch from calorie counting mode to low carb? I am trying so hard to do this healthy and in a manner that I can sustain for life rather than getting into crazy diet mentality but it's also frustrating to be doing so much better than I've ever done before in my life and yet having little success with the weight loss.

Sorry this is so long....I just wanted to give all the pertenant details up front.

Any advice?