Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 07-03-2007, 11:51 PM   #1  

Default Newbie! Considering surgery. Help.

I am actually considering surgery. I am about 40-50 pounds overweight. I am 5'1" and weigh around 181. For someone as short as me, that is a lot. Not to mention that I look pregnant and people ask me on a consistent basis when my baby is due. I carry most of my weight in my upper abdomen however the rest of me is noticibly overweight too. I do not recognize myself. I am battling depression and on medication. I feel like I am stuck in a cycle. I am depressed because of my weight and my weight is causing my depression. I calculated my BMI and it is 34.2 and >30 is obese. Please help. I am a school teacher and I want to lose weight before school starts back but I also have a broken ankle which is keeping me from exercising. Any suggestions and definitely prayers would be most appreciated.
suzie313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 12:06 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

I understand that if you want WLS you must be morbibly obese, at least 100 pounds overweight.It would be best to talk to doctor about it.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 12:13 AM   #3  
CouponDiva Extroardinaire

Hi Suzie!
Boy, can I relate. I am 5'1 and a half, and my starting weight was 178. OUr start weights are almost the same. I am now down to 159 and already feel way better.

You can soooo do this, and without surgery. YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!
Natalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 12:14 AM   #4  
ariesmoon

S/C/G: 276/195/176

Height: 5 ft 8

Default Weight Loss/Broken Ankle

I understand! I also broke my ankle as well. How far into it are you? I understand your depression and weight gain....but here I am now 80 lbs lighter. Surgery will only cause you more pain.

Are you on myspace?
ariesmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 12:22 AM   #5  

Default Hi from Suzie