3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight Loss Support (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support-13/)
-   -   Before Diet - Talk to Doctor - Do you have to? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support/102260-before-diet-talk-doctor-do-you-have.html)

Tabby Cat 01-16-2007 03:18 PM

Before Diet - Talk to Doctor - Do you have to?

Hi Everyone!

I'm a newbie here, and I have some questions for those who are more experienced in the weight loss/dietting - than I am - right now.

Almost everything you read says : "Before beginning a new diet/exercise plan - Talk to your Doctor".

How many people honestly do this?

The reason I ask is, I am currently in between family doctors right now, and my appointment to get in with the one here near where I live (moved) isn't until March 5 - and I really don't see any reason to wait and ask him, before I begin.

Despite my weight, I am in decent health. I do not have asthma, diabetes, or heart disease - atleast not to my knowledge - and I would guess I'd know :dizzy:

Anyway - Just looking for different opinions on this!

Thank you so much for more than this post - Thank you for the Inspirational Stories - You guys are GREAT! :carrot:

Tabby

nelie 01-16-2007 03:33 PM

The reason they say that is to cover their butts. If something happens to you while you undertake a diet, they can say "well did you consult your doctor? We advised you to do so".

Unless you are doing something dangerous such as taking pills, eating less than 1000 calories/day or following some wacky plan that where you aren't eating a balanced diet, then you should be fine.

NotTheCheat 01-16-2007 03:50 PM

I agree with Nelie, although I was forced to by my gym. They wouldn't let me start without my doctor's clearance, but it is a small family run place and I don't blame them for covering themselves.

simone1ca 01-16-2007 03:56 PM