Old 10-21-2007, 09:08 PM   #1  
Pat is in KY

S/C/G: 283/283/150

Height: 5'6"

Default roasted veggies?

Well somebody please tell me how to 'roast' vegetables? My husband and I have never heard of this. How long, what temperature? Does this mean broil in the oven? What kind of oil? What kind of spices and what kind of veggies do you all use? The only way we have ever eaten veggies is fried in butter in a skillet or boiled in water. Maybe this is why my husband hates vegetables so much. We fry cabbage in butter, we fry green beans in butter, etc. Is roasting better? Thanks for any answers...my email is [email protected] in case I will not be able to find this group again....yes, I'm new at this, ha ha.
goincrazyinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 10:47 PM   #2  
3 + years maintaining

S/C/G: 287/120's

Height: 5 foot nuthin'

Hey inky. Roasted veggies are fabulous.

You can roast all different ones. Some of our favorites are cauliflower, asparagus, brussel sprouts, green beans, zucchini and peppers.

I cover a large cookie sheet with tin foil (easy clean-up), spray it with cooking spray and then add the veggies. I then put on lots of chopped fresh garlic and a little salt. Then place in the oven at about 400' and cook away. I turn it a few times during the cooking. Green beans take about 35 minutes. I like when they start to get brown and a little wrinkly. YUM.
Asparagus takes a little less time. Cauliflower and brussel sprouts a little more. Zuchinni, I usually just slice up thickly and put under the broiler for a few minutes and then turn em and stick them back under for a few more.
rockinrobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 11:14 PM   #3  
it's always something

I LOVE roasted green beans! I toss mine with a little olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, then roast them till they start to shrivel.

You can also grill vegetables and they taste incredible! But never, ever, ever fry them in butter or anything else