3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Vegetarian and Vegan FAQ (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/vegetarian-vegan-faq-152/)
-   -   My first week as a vegan (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/vegetarian-vegan-faq/154617-my-first-week-vegan.html)

tigger175 10-21-2008 03:29 PM

My first week as a vegan

Hey everyone,

Tomorrow I will have been a vegan for 7 days! :carrot: I feel so clean and my mind is clear!

I went to a farmer's market today and loaded up on organic vegetables, fruit, and soups and am really excited to try everything. I have most of my breakfasts (fruit or oatmeal) and lunches (salads) planned but I'm still figuring out the dinners.

It's difficult finding vegan foods- so many things have small amount of milk, butter, cheese, and animal fats in them! I'm just looking for some support and advice.

Also, I'm studying abroad right now and will be here till christmas. How do I tell my family I have decided to become a vegan? Should I wait a month to make sure this is what I want before I tell them?

Thank you!
Dee

Darby1 10-21-2008 04:36 PM

Congratulations! Sounds like you're doing better than my first week when all I ate was bananas and almonds because I didn't know what else to eat!

It's really up to you about when you want to tell your family. You could even wait until you go back home if you want. Do you think they'll be supportive?

I'm assuming you're from Omaha by what's under your avatar. Check out happycow.com and look for Omaha and you'll be pleasantly surprised by how many veggie-friendly choices you have there. You can probably find the city you're in now (they have international listings) and see what type of stores and restaurants are available for vegans.

Congrats again and good luck. There are a lot of vegans on the board, so feel free to ask a lot of questions!

Haley8203 10-25-2008 05:36 PM