South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Old 02-07-2006, 04:04 PM   #1  
Bird Nerd

Question Sugar Free vs No Sugar Added

I have a question since I am pretty new to the beach. What is the difference between sugar free and no sugar added. I am having trouble finding sugar free fudge pops but can find plenty of no sugar added (sweetened with Splenda). I have noticed there are tons of no sugar added products on the market - how are these for SB?
Thanks!
wildlifebio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 04:14 PM   #2  
Started SBD 1/26/04

No sugar added and sugar free can be confusing until you get the hang of it. Some foods have natually occuring sugars in them. And those are typically good sugars as your body knows what to do with it. For example: Tomatoes. Tomatoes have natural sugars in them so if you are looking for a tomato sauce look for one that even though it shows sugar grams in the nutrition section of the lable it doesn't have any listed in the ingredients.

Dairy is another that has natural sugar in it. So your fudge pops can't ever be "sugar free" but they can be "no sugar added". The can't say they are sugar free because it isn't true but they can call it no sugar added because they didn't add any to it when they made the fudge pops.

Hope this helps.
Sheba's Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:38 AM   #3  
I can do this!

Height: 5'11"

Great job explaining, Sheba's Mom!