South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Old 06-19-2010, 04:49 PM   #1  

Default Phase 1 sweet cravings and artificial sweeteners..

I'm having a hard time accepting that artificial sweeteners and things such as suger free gelatin, crystal light packs etc are OK to have. It scares me and feels like it's too good to be true.

I've been working with a nutritionist for 6 months prior to starting this that BANNED all artificicial ANYTHING from my diet. It was so restrictive that I didn't lose weight.

I have heard/read that artificial sweeteners will make the sugar cravings worse. Isn't the point of phase 1 to eliminate the cravings?

If I have the crystal light, splenda etc in phase 1, when I'm done with phase 1, will the cravings really be gone?

I just had a nonfat greek yogurt snack with packet of crystal light, chopped pecans and sprinkled with a few tsp of unsweetened coconut and felt like I'd died and gone to heaven. I made a cottage cheese thing for tonight ..blended cottage cheese with SF strawberry gelatin and tasted..delicious!!

Are these things truly LEGAL??

Part of me says "look..forget the whole artificial thing..." What's the lesser of two evils? I can get the REAL sugar OUT of my diet and actually start to LOSE weight and worry about "cleaning it up" (ie; artificial stuff) later..right?

I just want to know I'm doing the right thing.

Here's what I've had so far today on day 2: (oh, I'm in the midst of a horrible acute allergic reaction to either my tetanus shot or muscle milk..we don't know which but am now on high dose steroids)
coffee
scrambled eggs w/ ham and cheese
taco salad..lots of greens, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, grd. turkey w/ low sodium taco mix, shredded low fat cheese, salsa
snack: nonfat greek yogurt w/ crystal light pack, chopped pecans and a little coconut
3 pieces cauliflower w/ roasted red pepper hummus

Someone tell me how I'm doing??

Julie
juju814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 05:41 PM   #2