Yoga?

• Have any of you tried Yoga? I am asking this here because we are all in the same sort of boat with having extra baggage. I am very overweight(as most of you know already) and I was just wondering if Yoga is hard to do when you are very overweight?

Also what is the best beginner type of video/dvd to get for someone whom has never ever done Yoga?
  • I do yoga a few times a month I started yoga when I was 289 lbs and while some of the postures were (and are!) a challenge, you can modify the posses according to your strength and flexibility. One of the nice things about yoga, it is hard for it to get boring when each session brings the challenge of improving your postures and reaching further into them.
    I really like "YOGA for Absolute Beginners" by Yogi Marlon. I found it at Wal-Mart for $5 (U.S.) but it is also available from askyogimarlon.com for about $12 (U.S.)
    Hope this helps!
  • I love yoga but yes, it's hard because of the extra baggage but still worth it. Although I don't recommend it as a subsititute for cardio, it's great for calming the mind and giving yourself a "body awareness" which I think is vital in the struggle to lose weight.

I highly recommend a class when beginning. Although videos are great, learning the poses correctly can be a challenge if you don't have someone looking out for you. Once you know what the correct pose feels like, it's much easier to do at home.
  • GJ, what a lovely photo!! You always sound like you're such a hoot, and your photo really shows your fun-loving spirit.