Newbie here - a bit shy and dipping my toe in the water

• Hi. I have never been on a weight loss forum before but have been 'meaning to' for months/years.
    I am 34 years old, have 3 small kids and weigh over 330lb the last time i checked - i haven't weighed for months now as i have been too scared but i know from my clothes that this has increased.
    I really just don't know where to start. I know I need to do something but I think i'm scared of failing and this prevents me from starting to loose weight. I feel like i'm on a mission to self destruct and i don't know why.
  • Welcome, sar!

This was the first weight loss forum I joined and it changed my life.

Every change we make, no matter how small, will all add up to big things. Cutting calories (for example, cut out soda if you drink it), adding a bit of physical activity (go for a short walk every day if you aren't already), and posting here for support are easy ways to start.

I was so overwhelmed when I first starting my lifestyle change (I hesitate to call it a diet), I never thought I'd get any of the weight off and that I was destined to be an obese woman the rest of my life.

I hope you make yourself comfortable around here and join a few threads. Maybe making a mini-goal for yourself will help motivate you to get started.

I look forward to reading your updates and wish you lots of luck!
  • i agree with elvislover. making one or two small changes and sitting tight for a while just to get used to it is a great approach. no more cycles of shame. no more beating yourself up for not doing it perfect. just make one small change and make it a goal to do it for one day. and then the next. and so on.

this is a great website where you can read and learn. i wish you the best, and congratulations on deciding to make some changes in your life!
  • Welcome sar!
    The support here is great. Feel free to join us in the 300+ chat thread.