Reps or Weight?

• Hey all! I'm rather new at this exercising stuff, so I thought I'd consult all you lovely chickies. I'm excersising to lose weight- but I'd also like to gain some strength. I'm currently alternating days of pushups and sit-ups and doing a 15 minute weight or resistance band workout 6 days out of the week. I've only been doing this for about 2 weeks which I realize isn't much, but I'm excited to be seeing a bit of progress. Anyway, I hope this isn't a silly question but..... do reps matter more than weight? Or vice versa?
  • if you want muscle endurance, go for more reps/lighter weight, if you want muscle strength, go for weight. I tend to do a mix of both but usually less reps, heavier weights.
  • Quote: if you want muscle endurance, go for more reps/lighter weight, if you want muscle strength, go for weight
    I'm having trouble from a practical standpoint how to define endurance different from strength. Can you help me out?

I've been thinking that, to see the best results in my core, for example, that at least for now I'd go for more weight. It's not like I'm worried about looking like a body builder. Also, frankly, the thought of more reps bores me.
  • Quote: I'm having trouble from a practical standpoint how to define endurance different from strength. Can you help me out?

I've been thinking that, to see the best results in my core, for example, that at least for now I'd go for more weight. It's not like I'm worried about looking like a body builder. Also, frankly, the thought of more reps bores me.
    Well both have functional applications. If you worked at UPS loading boxes, you would want both but especially muscle endurance because lifting 10 50lb boxes would do you better than lifting 1 500 lb box.

Also, a good comparison in sports would be sprinters vs marathon runners.
  • Oh, okay. I get it. So, yeah, I'm thinking I want "strength".