New to Low Carb

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Hi,

Well, I'm new to Atkins (just started Tuesday). My cousin has been doing it for 6 weeks (his doctor recommended it) and has lost 30 pounds. I have tried everything and this program really makes sense. My hubby, who has never tried a plan with me, is gonna try it too. I guess I was just wondering if anyone has any tips, especially regarding good low carb foods that I can try. I would love to hear from you!!!

Christina
  • Pork rinds. That's my best tip. They are the perfect Atkins food. Low Carb, balanced in fat and in protein. I use them to make meatloaf, fried chicken, and just for snacking.

If either of you drink beer, try the Michalob Ultra, my husband (DH as we call them here on the board) switched to it and with that change alone has dropped quite a bit. You really shouldn't have it during induction, but it's a better choice than most.

Oh, I forgot to say "Welcome to the Coop!"
  • Welcome Christina!!

Best advice? Prepare your weekly lunches (if you need to take them to work) and have your suppers planned for the week. This helps me keep ontrack. Especially for lunchs, then Im not stopping at the diner or the corner store for goodies I shouldnt be having.

2. Stay away from the atkins bars and diet sodas (especially during induction) they will stall your weight loss

Im sure some of the ladies here have some great advice!

Robin
  • Thanks sooo much for the great advice. I've been packing lunch for myself, but breakfast is really the tough time. I have early classes, need to get my dughter to school, and there's no time to eat. I've been hard-boiling eggs the night before and eating them in the car on the way to school.....only at red lights of course...lol

Christina