Insomnia

• Hi, all.

I'm an overly stressed college student. Not to say that college is really that stressful. It's just that I am the sort who tends to be slightly anxious about ALL things rather than super anxious about ONE thing. What this means is that I end up collecting on lots of little anxieties and then feel nervous and upsetted ALL THE TIME.

I think this stressing out is catching up with me.

I haven't been able to fall asleep properly. I lie in bed for anywhere from one to four hours before achieving sleep. Once I do sleep, I'm usually either out like a light or I wake up every hour or so. Either way, I always wake up feeling like I was just hit with a whistling train that then proceeded to back over me.

Last night I found myself so restless I finally just decided to read a book for a while until I become more relaxed. I finished the book. It was 4:30am when I was done. I fell asleep about 5am and got up today at noon. Thank god it's the weekend, but I feel anxious and exhausted AND I seem to have gained a terrible sore throat and congestion into the deal.

I don't really expect a lot of solutions. Things like "listen to soft music" never really worked for me. I end up hyper-focusing on the music instead of just my thoughts. Either way I do not sleep. My British friend suggested chamomille tea. I didn't have any on hand last night (in fact, I've never had that kind of tea before in my life) but I am seriously considering it.

I'm also wondering if perhaps I need more sleep than is recommended. I've always tried to get 7-8hours on school nights, for example. But I always feel more rested if I can manage 10-11hours (on the weekend.) The problem is that scheduling myself so as to allow THAT many hours for lying around unconscious doesn't seem remotely appealing. I have things to do!

I don't think this is tied into my diet or my exercise. I just know that you ladies are supportive and often have some really helpful experiences or ideas.
    Thanks!

- Kat