Lifting weights - pyramid or just basic reps&sets?

• I'm doing BFL and am trying to adjust to using weights doing the pyramid system. Is this the best way to go or should I just be shooting for 4/5 sets of 12 reps at one consistent heavy weight?

I ask because I've been going to the gym and doing the pyramid and not really feeling like I'm sore or anything. maybe I'm not lifting heavy enough? Today I did dumbell squats using 7kg, 8kg, 9kg, 10kg and then 8kg again and I didn't find it difficult, certainly not to failure. I'm thinking I must need to lift quite a bit heavier. I'm new to lifting and female so I don't want to do too much to soon but want to feel like I'm actually gaining muscle.
  • Hi BeaBaby-

I'm kind of new here but I can give you my opinion. If you are new to lifting weights, don't get too caught up in the differing schemes such as pyramid, drop sets, etc. My advice would be do stick with straight sets. If you are lifting for fat loss, the range of reps is between 12 and 15. You can go higher in number if you'd like. If you are trying to build muscle (hypertrophy), your rep range should be in the 8-12 range. If you are looking to build strength, the range should be in the 3-5 range.

Now, as far as the amount of weight you are lifting, you should barely be able to get out the last rep but you should be able to do so without a spotter. From what you are saying, it sounds like you definitely need to up your weight.

Concerning the number of reps, 4-5 sets of 12 reps comes out to 48-60 total reps (obviously). That is a good range for fat loss, but you could also do 3-4 sets at 15 reps. It would shorten your workout considerably as well.