Weight loss and marriage issues

• I was not real sure where to post this, but thought since I have been maintaining for a few months I would try here.

Has anyone else dealt with a partner who blames your weight loss for all your marital woes? Since losing my weight my husband has never once said I look good, but instead I hear on a daily basis, "who are you trying to impress?" and every possible variation of that.

I can't seem to make him understand I did this for me and no one else. Do I enjoy looking good in my new body, heck yeah! I am a much more confidant person now and I think that scares the living bejesus out of him despite all my efforts to reassure him. I swear he would be happier if I regained the weight and wore dumpy clothes again.

How in the world do I battle this, or can I? I would love to hear experiences from others on this subject as I have about reached my ropes end.
  • Hey Stephanie, I don't really know what to say since I didn't experience this, but definitely wanted to post that I am so sorry your husband has chosen to react negatively to your change. Since he doesn't say it - YOU LOOK GREAT!

So sorry your happiness and triumph has to be ruined by his insecurity and fears - does he think you're going to leave him? Has he lost his "food buddy?" It sounds very very wrong for a husband to say such negative things, it doesn't sound healthy for him, you or your marriage. He sounds insecure and threatened by your newly slender body and your more form fitting clothes. His insecurity is HIS problem, not yours but I understand that you must work on the issue together. He is so hostile, I definitely recommend some unbiased counseling.