Traveling for the Holidays--Advice Needed

• Morning, all!

With just a bit over a week until Christmas, I am finally in the home stretch of final exams and closing up classes (I'm a college teacher and a doctoral student). My biggest concern is coming up in 6 days, though. This year, I made the brilliant decision to travel to a warm locale for the holidays. I know I'll enjoy the weather, but I am VERY VERY concerned about the whole eating aspect (do you ever feel like your thoughts revolve around what you will or won't eat?). For the most part, for 7 days, we will be eating out.

I could really use some advice on how to plan for and survive this trip. I want it to be fun, but for some reason having to keep track of what I'm eating makes it seem like it won't be. On a positive note, I am preparing for the trip by buying a bathroom scale just like my one at home and bringing it with me to weigh every morning as I do at home and I am buying a food scale as I use at home and weighing and measuring my food. I also hope/plan to take early morning advantage of the fitness center where I'm staying.

Enjoy your Saturday!
  • Quote:
    do you ever feel like your thoughts revolve around what you will or won't eat?
    Yes!! But I haven't figured out a better way to handle maintenance, so that's just the way it has to be.

Oh boy, I envy you your warm weather vacation! You have a lot of good ideas already. I can tell you've given this a lot of thought.

I think the problem with vacation weight gain happens when people say: "oh, I'm on vacation" and then completely abandon all their eating strategies.
    Just planning and mentally rehearsing your trip (like you're doing) will do wonders for staying on track. *

As for how to survive a trip, here's a few things that I've learned over the past six years and a lot of trips ...

Daily exercise can really reduce any damage caused by eating out so often. And it makes me want to eat healthy for the rest of the day.