Metabolic Research Center - Take III

You're on Page 1 of 43
Go to
  • Okay, I am new to this and noticed that the old forum was closed so I opened a new one. I have been on the MRC plan for about a month now and have had what I think is some good success. I am down 9.5 lbs with a lot more to go. Just taking it some step at a time. I am finding that I am having more cravings now than when I first started. How do you get through the constant urges to want to eat items that are not on the plan?
  • Thanks hdaisy, for starting part 3 of our section.

What exactly are you craving? Maybe there is a recipe someone can share that will help? Is it the same time every day or all day long?

I know that my 'witching hour' seems to be between 3-4 p.m. I think it's because that is the time my kids get in from school, during the school year, and have a snack...and I would have one with them, while they told me about their day. So it became a habit. I can still tell when it's around that time of day, because I'll think that I'm hungry, but if I go do something, even as simple as brushing my teeth, it seems to go away, so I know it wasn't real hunger.

There are days that I think I will just DIE if I don't have one itty bitty Hershey's kiss...but then I think "Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels" and that seems to help me fight the urge. Not saying I'm perfect though, I'm sure the day will come when I have to confess to y'all that I ate or drank something I shouldn't have...nature of the beast.

Just remember, we didn't gain this weight over night, and we won't lose it over night either. It takes time..but we have the time, because we are all learning how to eat healthy!

Welcome to the board!