Closed Thread

Old 07-25-2006, 01:08 PM   #1  

Default Newbie Looking into the South Beach Diet

Hi all -

I'm new in this section, although not new to 3FC. I was previously on Atkins and while it did work a bit, I don't think I could stick with it long term. I hate running from diet to diet...but I just got on a great exercise regime now and would like to follow some sort of diet plan too. Something I can live with.

Anyone have any insights to the diet -- starting it? Is it similar to Atkins?

Thanks for any info!
Old 07-25-2006, 07:26 PM   #2  

Hi Buffy! Check out the Stickies on info on getting started.. Planning is key!
Here are some of the differences between Atkins and SBD..Comparing oranges to apples

1) Fats: Atkins does not make a distinction about the type of FATS consumed... Trans and Sat Fats are discussed in the SB book and are to be kept at a minimum . "Good Unsat Mono and Poly fat consumption are encouraged within reason. (There is a guide to limits -see the Stickies section.)

2)Carbs: Atkins - There is no distinction between Carb types and the effect of them on your health. Atkins limits all carbs including vegetables and whole grains. With SB consumption of good carbs are part of the healthy eating plan .Pretty much unlimited green veggies and legumes, --and as you move to Phase 2, adding more veggies... (in general root vegetables are limited as well as corn) and adding in Whole grains like sourdough, wheat, oats--(essentially unprocessed/whole foods) are allowed on South beach -not on Atkins.

Atkins: provides for very limited vegetables and carbs in general - and Whole grains are not discussed at all.

3) Southbeach "focus" on lower GI load foods to stabilize body production of insulin in order to control and maintain a level of insulin in your body -doing so, you do not have the sugar spikes in your blood that contribute to feeling "false" hunger..