Closed Thread

Old 09-14-2005, 02:39 PM   #1  

Unhappy Side Effect- Taking Metformin w/ Diet

Hello- I'm new to the SBD, just started on Monday. I don't find it too difficult right now, but I keep feeling sick to my stomach. I started to wonder if it's because I'm also taking Metformin, which is dropping my blood sugar. Could it be dropping too much & I am feeling sick? Should I add in a serving or two of complex carbs during Phase 1 to counter this side-effect?

Anyone else go through this?

Thanks for any help & good luck to everyone out there!

Lisa
Old 09-14-2005, 02:58 PM   #2  
We're TTC!!

S/C/G: 303/281/Goal#1:271

Height: 5'3"

I'm not too sure about answering your question the right way, but I can say that my husband and I have both been doing SBD since early August. He's a diabetic and before SBD his blood sugar was in the 300-400 range. Now, his fasting blood sugar is 83-100 when he first wakes up. So, it's been a significant drop for him. I believe he's on a generic form of Metformin...but I don't remember the name for sure. There has been a few times that he's complained of stomach aches, but it's seemed to go away. Our Dr. thought this was a good plan for him to be on, but you might want to ask your Dr. about what you're experiencing.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:47 PM   #3  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day

Definitely ask your doctor. There is a section on dieting with Health Problems in here which may be of help.
Old 09-14-2005, 05:31 PM   #4  
Who needs sleep?

Definitely ask your dr or his nurse about the blood pressure, but I have a friend who was on metformin for PCOS, not diabetes, and it caused a lot of digestive upset, cramping, etc. I believe these are common side effects of the medication, but your info sheet from the pharmacy should say - or call the pharmacist for more info (I find they are often better informed on med's side effects and such than md's are).
Old 09-14-2005, 06:40 PM   #5  

Cool