PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 09-03-2004, 01:57 PM   #1  

Default SyndromeX! PCOS! Insulin Resistance! Just diagnosed, How do I fix it?

Oh, where do I begin!! I am new to this! I have been in search of support and answers when I came across this forum. I have yet to figure out how it works or what it is all about. However, I hope there is somebody out there that can offer me a little information.

I have just recently been diagnosed with Syndrome X/PCOS. I have to tell ya this has hit me pretty hard!

I just got married 2 months ago! For my husband and I babies are the next in our plan. So off to the Dr I go. I have always had a problem with menses and in fact have not had anything for a number of years. This being the reason for the visit to the Dr. I have gone through about 1 1/2 months of pokes, prods and various testing. The end result being the diagnosis of Syndrome X/PCOS. Though I now have to change from a gyno to a physician the expected treatment is Metformin and serious weight loss.

I have always been over weight. However over the last 2 years I have gained over 100lbs. Holy Cow!!! The diagnosis shed alot little light on that aspect of my health as well as why I never feel good. but my question is this.....

Are there any good suggestions as to how to take the weight off? Obviously hard work and will power is necesary. However that has not worked this far.

What is a good exercise program? Can anybody recommend any good videos or have any good ideas?

I am told my ability to conceive and have babies is based on fixing this problem. And I need all the help I can get!! Are there women out there who have overcome this problem and have been blessed with babies? Or is there really no hope? I have faith, in that, if I am meant to have children I will. but, medically what are the odds?