Research on Living With Metabolic Syndrome

• Hello all!

My name is Soncera Teboe. I am a student at Berea College studying Psychology, and for one of my classes, I've been assigned to pick a chronic disability on which to do a research project. Part of this project is to ask permission to join a support group and to ask questions of the members, to try and get an inside feel of what it is like to live with said disability.

I chose Metabolic Syndrome because my mother was diagnosed with it, and I myself am currently having tests run to be diagnosed.

Please know that any and all responses will be kept confidential, and that I greatly appreciate any and all responses given by those willing.

Also, I realize that this is not a forum for Metabolic Syndrome specifically, but my mother pointed me in the direction of this group, and I know that X syndrome is often connected with insulin resistance.

Please feel free to post and let me know if it is alright that I remain a member of the forum, and if I am permitted to use your stories to further my study!

Thanks!
  • If you had a questionnaire or survey, I would love to take it.
  • Same here
  • Questions for all of you!
    Sorry for taking so long to get back to all of you!

Here are the questions I have to present to you. There are eleven. Feel free to answer all of them, or just a few of them, as you prefer.

1.) What problems have you faced getting diagnosed?

2.) What life style changes have you had to make since your diagnosis?

3.) What other related diseases/syndromes have you been diagnosed with?

4.) Do you have any family members who have also been diagnosed?

5.) Has your diagnosis caused any family issues for you?

6.) How long have you been diagnosed?

7.) Have you noticed an increase or a decrease in social support since you were diagnosed?

8.) How long did the diagnosis take?

9.) Have you developed any other disorders or problems because of your diagnosis?