WHAT just happened!?!

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Hi everyone. This is my first post on this board. I'm a female bodybuilder who got real lean 3-4 years ago and has PACKED ON pounds since then. I'm comfortable in the off-season around 185 lbs. My competition lean weight is about 165 shredded. With excessive dieting and working out 6 days per week, my weight has STILL crept UP nearly 50 lbs!!

I have done every sane and insane thing I can think of to manipulate my diet & workout routines to try to drop weight and compete for 3 years now. NOTHING worked for 3+ years. I knew I was not doing anything wrong with my workouts or nutrition, so finally I gave in and asked for help. Went to a doc and SUPRISE!! I'm insulin resistant. My insulin is through the roof somehow?!?

Blood glucose normal. A1C test normal. Insulin serum = 83. The lab report says its supposed to be under 17. WTH just happened!?!? How could this happen?? I've been working out and dieting strictly for 10+ years as a bodybuilder. All other lab test items came back great. I have NO symptoms of insulin resistance other than I can't lose weight no matter what I do. No fatigue, amazing energy, huge muscle gains in the gym, no excessive hunger/thirst, etc. The only symptom I have is that I can't lose weight!? I'm so angry right now. I thought dieting and exercising were the first line of defense against high insulin levels and were supposed to regulate it without medication!? I've been doing that 10+ years and my insulin is at 83! HOW. HOW. I cried when my doctor told me.