PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 11-13-2007, 10:53 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 289/266.6/170

Height: 5'4"

Default PCOS and splenda - bad together?

Hi all! I'm a newbie to this board and glad to finally find some support! I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2002, 6 months after an early miscarriage and have benn trying to find a good doctor that will help me with my weight loss battle, nutritional needs and fertility issues. Been doing a lot on my own.

Been on WW since August 2006, Byetta since April 2007. Was on Metformin 1500/day but went off cause my fertility dr just wanted to continue to do the IUI and other drugs to get me pregnant and didn't really offer much in the wt loss help dept other than "stick to WW." I thought it was best to try to lose a little weight before going back.

Been doing alot of research on the net for PCOS nutritional diets. Majority of stuff points to low carb/low GI/higher fiber foods. But been wondering if splenda sweentener could aggrevate the PCOS and IR symptoms. Any one notice any differences? I love the 4C to go packets and use one in a 33oz bottle of water since I don't like the concentrated taste of a 16 oz and I figure at least I can meet my daily WW water intake goal easier by drinking 2 or 3 of these 33 oz bottles of water each day. (I used to be addicted to ShopRite brand ice tea mix and would drink at least 4-32oz glasses of it per day/evening along with 3-4 diet sodas a day - talk about a sugar/caffeine addiction! I have since cut down to 1 diet soda a day and 2-3 to go packets)
rynngo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 08:54 PM   #2  

Height: 5'4"