Old 02-28-2006, 11:41 AM   #1  
LLV

Question Berries (need tips from berry experts)

I need to eat more fruit, but I don't like fruit. Except berries. Blueberries, especially. I love blueberry anything. In fact I just had some blueberry sauce (made with Splenda instead of sugar) on a bowl of Breyer's Cal Smart ice cream.

Heaven

But! I'm not really experienced when it comes to using berries for different things. Can you give me some suggestions on how to incorportate more berries into my diet?

I'd much appreciate it. I have no idea how to squeeze these little nutrition-packed gems into my life!
LLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:47 AM   #2  

I love berries in oatmeal. Blueberries too are my favourite, although strawberries and raspberries work well too.

Raw baby spinach with raspberries, blueberries or strawberries with a low fat/non fat balsamic dressing.

Just as they are straight from the box, or even better, frozen, takes ages to eat, and really nice!

Mixed with other fruit, like apples, and baked with a low fat crumble topping made with oats.

In a fruit salad.

Sometimes I mix cut up strawberries with a teaspoon of maple syrup and top with fat free greek style yoghurt, that works with blueberries too (our foreign strawberries often need some help in the flavour department)

Mixed with yoghurt and skimmed milk and whizzed into a smoothie, if you use it you can add some protein powder.

Does that help??

I'm a berry addict, my dh calls me "the bear" as I live on berries, oatmeal and honey!!
kykaree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 12:25 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 180/130/130

Height: 5'5

kykaree,

great suggestions! I LOVE blueberries!

Linda, you can also bake berries into practically anything. Have you tried blackberries? I bought them on a whim the other day, and they were so good!

I think you can also buy some berries dried...I thought I saw cranberries at Superstore the other day.
just_a_dreamy1 is offline   Reply With Quote