3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Mini-Goal Photo Album (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/mini-goal-photo-album-202/)
-   -   Can't believe I'm about to do this... (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/mini-goal-photo-album/151455-cant-believe-im-about-do.html)

Cats tongue 09-13-2008 05:46 PM

Can't believe I'm about to do this...

Hello all my fellow 3 Fat Chickies,

I've been a member of this forum for over a year and a half now. Holy! Can you believe it? I know I can't. I owe some much to so many members on this site, I don't think I thank you all enough. I'm not at my goal yet, and it's been a ridiculously slow journey... but it's been worth it and it's only going up from here (except the numbers, they are going down...)

A little about me:

I'm an almost-21-year-old university student and I decided to get seriously healthy in January of 2007. What started as just another "new years resolution" turned my world around. I finally admitted to myself that I'd been fighting with an eating disorder (mostly binging with some purging) that led me to gain 27 lbs in a few years. This wasn't just about weight any more; it was about my state of mind, I was not a happy person...

Admitting my problem eating to myself and my closest family members started me down the right track. I began slowly changing my eating habits and exercising in a well balanced way (I'd always exercised, my weight gain came mostly from my eating). And I began to heal my insecurities. And for the whole journey 3FC was there, even when i didn't come on the boards, I knew I could come back at any time.

I couldn't diet, because that always threw me back into the binging/starving cycle that destroyed me mentally.