Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 06-13-2013, 12:55 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 265/(ticker)/155

Height: 5'6"

Default Determining Maintenance Weight?

I would love to hear how all of you chose your maintenance weight.

I was obese from puberty. I weighed 160 lbs at age 14. At 16, I wore a size 16. At 18, a size 18. I graduated college as a size 22.

So here I am, 5 lbs below my goal (not even my original goal, which was 175, but my revised goal of 165) and as you can imagine, it's getting harder and harder to lose. I would like to see 155, which is 5 lbs away, but if it's going to drive me crazy to maintain, then I'm happy at 160.

I'm a size 10/12, which was really the goal all along. Not to be slim, but to be normal size. And I'm not sure if I should keep pushing. I am tired and the urge to stuff my face with junk is as strong as ever. I worry that if I push myself too hard, it will backfire.

Any words of wisdom? Right now I am focused on getting from the 160.8 I weighed this morning to 159. But then what? Go to 155? 150?

Thanks all
Underwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:52 PM   #2  
One day at a time!

S/C/G: 301/see ticker/160

Height: 5' 2"

There is a thread in the sticky section that I love to read. It is great inspiration!
Picking A Goal Weight: Did you pick your maintenance weight, or did it pick you?
time2lose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:25 PM   #3  

S/C/G: HW:200+/LW:120/CW:142

Height: 5'1 and a 1/2" (yes the 1/2" matters!)

Congratulations on all you've done, Underwater! That's a lot of hard work, I know.

I was obese from childhood and didn't start losing weight until my early 30s, about 3 years ago. After reaching normal BMI, I lowered my goal weight in 5 pound increments until I sort of settled at 120. That was in 2011 and there was a weight creep, which I started attacking through restriction, which led to episodes of overeating.