Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 05-24-2010, 09:17 PM   #1  
Lifelong Journey Member

Height: 5' 6"

Default Nothing Tastes As Good As...

So I've been playing in the maintenance game for about 6 months. I'm thrilled with my weight loss, not struggling too badly with my eyes being bigger than my caloric limits and I love exercising. So all is going quite nicely. Exactly what I vowed when I started this journey for the last time. I'm praying I am always so dedicated to my new lifestyle.

Now, the title of the thread is because I've read the signatures that say Nothing Tastes as Good as Being Thin Feels. Or variations on that theme. I agree with that. Mostly. Over the last few months as I've tackled formerly difficult physical tasks, I've come to the conclusion my motto is Nothing Tastes as Good as Being Healthy Feels. I started my exercise love affair 3 years before starting to lose weight but didn't make the more physical tasks a bunch easier. Losing weight PLUS the physical conditioning did.

I know my original intent in losing the weight was to be "healthy". Being thin didn't really enter the equation because I never have been and maybe down deep I didn't think I'd really get there. But I didn't start for looking pretty. As I near that half century mark, I didn't really care about thin and pretty. But... I started looking not so bad. At one point, my reasons switched to thin and pretty. Heck, the plastic surgeries are a semi-result of that. Regardless, the healthy was there but not the focus.

Fast forward to this May, especially yesterday. DH and I decide to go biking for the first time in two years (knee injury last year). We start out and I said, "We'll go until my butt gets sore, then we'll turn around". DH nods because my butt always hurts like the dickens after a few miles. I'd tried two female atomically correct seats and had come to the conclusion my tailbone was just not normal. Well, duh Marie, it was fat.