Old 10-01-2008, 03:37 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 182/143/135

Height: 5'9

Default When does starvation mode kick in?

Does anyone know when starvation mode usually kicks in? I mean how many days of low-calorie eatting does it take for your body to adjust. I like to eat low-cal for monday-thursday (between 600-900 calories) and then eat maintenance level Friday and Saturday, and about 1500 calories on Sunday (just a little below maintenance).
Does anyone know if this will send me into starvation mode? Should I add one maintenace day during the week and take away one from my weekend?
Thanks!
HealthPNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:40 PM   #2  

Height: 5'6.5

Holy crap girl. 600-900 calories a day? Is that a normal range? I could NEVER stick to that! I would assume, but i'm no professional, that this would surly send your body into starvation mode and hurt the metoblism for the long run.
JamieJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:47 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

There's a lot to be worried about with extremely low cal dieting besides "will it stop me from losing weight." How about "can I get all the nutrients my body needs to be healthy if I eat less than 1K calories a day?" The answer is probably no.

I completely understand the "must lose weight as quickly as possible, however possible" mindset because I lived that way for almost 20 years. I can honestly say it did work - SHORT TERM. But I NEVER successfully kept off weight for any length of time until I finally gave myself permission to eat.

Good luck.
Glory87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:57 PM   #4  
I can do anything!

S/C/G: 267/Ticker/150 & BAMF

Height: 5'9.5"

Your body will most definately go into starvation mode if you restrict that severely. I wouldn't recommend going any lower than 1200. If you send your body into starvation mode you risk gaining the weight back very quickly and ruining your metabolism. It's not worth it in my honest opinion.