Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-11-2014, 11:17 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 210/163/125

Height: 5'4"

Default Hello!

Hi everyone!
I've been watching this forum for a while now, and I figured that it was time for me to make an account myself and share my story here. I am having a difficult time losing weight and I would love to be able to talk to people who are going through the same thing! My friends and family members try their best to be supportive, and even though I appreciate that so much, they will never understand what it is like to struggle with weight issues since they are not in the same situation.

I'm Mary and almost 22 years old, I live in the Netherlands and I'm a medical student. I've been struggling with my weight for as long as I can remember, with me being at my highest weight at the age of 13-14, I weighed about 200 lbs during that time. And I managed to drop about 50 lbs by making changes in my diet alone. However, when I started university at the age of 18, I slowly started gaining weight again and I am now at 165 lbs. I am not that tall, I'm 5'4 so as you can imagine, every excess pound shows immediately..
Moreover, I am struggling with certain symptoms that are seen in PCOS patients. Difficulties with losing weight being one of them.
Sadly, I have not found an endocrinologist that was able to help me with this, but I have done research and found that low-carb is the best way for me to lose weight. I hope there are women with PCOS out here that have accomplished to lose weight by following a low-carb diet, because I would really love to hear what you did to accomplish your goals!

As for exercise, I do Bodycombat/cardio exercises 3 times a week and strength training about 2 times a week (trying to increase the days I go to the gym, though!)