3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/introductions-8/)
-   -   A fat med student. (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/introductions/289119-fat-med-student.html)

DrAsh 10-27-2013 01:12 PM

A fat med student.

cleancowgirl 10-27-2013 01:42 PM

Welcome to the forum Dr Ash.
I am an Intensive care nurse and have been overweight for the last 10 years. Stress and dealing with it with Chocolate, fatty foods and things that gave me momentarily stress relief. I realized I could not be a role model teaching my patients to change their lifestyle when I was not doing the same. There was also mitigating factors but you feel like a big hypocrite with the adage "Do as I say not as I do" This is a good site. Good luck with your journey and medical career.

tefrey 10-27-2013 02:02 PM

Hi DrAsh!

Welcome, and congrats on taking this first step!

I avoid processed foods so I don't use weight loss shakes, but maybe someone who does will respond. If you are worried about side effects though, there are plenty of diets available that rely on food you prepare yourself and plenty of people here that can give you some advice.

Good luck!

happybug 10-27-2013 06:00 PM

That's a valid point that I think many people over look; that weight loss shakes can have side effects and that they're not for everyone. A lot of them contain guarana which I can't have. But even the ones that don't have guarana in it I found still gave me a headache and made me constipated. Maybe research some healthy eating plans and find which one suits you. Sometimes just making a decision to cut out take away, sugary drinks and limit alcohol, while being more active can make a difference. Good luck with your studies!

Jacqui_D 10-28-2013 12:13 AM