Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 08-08-2013, 12:14 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 317/309/175

Height: 5'5"

Default I have to make this work

Hi, this is my first time joining anything like this. I've been reading through some of the forum posts over the last few weeks and have finally worked up the courage to register. I'm really hoping to find some support and tools to control my weight and emotional eating so that I can get my life back. I've always struggled with my weight since childhood, but in the past several years, it's just been completely out of control. I'm 317 lbs now, and I'm so angry with myself for getting to this point. I'm frustrated with the physical pain of carrying all of this weight, with the exhaustion and debilitating self consciousness and depression. I am not living my life, and I'm not a good mother to my children because of the physical and emotional strain I'm battling.

I'm so ready for all of that to change. I'll be thirty years old in a year and a half, and I don't want to enter the next decade of my life feeling this way. I know that a major factor in my weight gain is depression and emotional eating/binge eating. I'm trying to lose weight on a budget, and it's not easy, but in the last couple of weeks I've started drinking only water, except herbal tea with Splenda occasionally, and I've begun eating much healthier. Portion control is tricky, depending on if I'm on an emotional rollercoaster (just taking that day by day) but I'm proud of the progress I've made with that in the past couple weeks as well. I joined My Fitness Pal this morning and started my food diary. Things are on the right track. A major goal for me now, aside from calorie counting and trying to start exercising, is just to learn how to accept and love my body just the way it is. I know that's a big piece of the puzzle for me in staying motivated to meet my goals.