Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 03-14-2013, 01:34 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 247/236/150

Height: 5'6''

Smile My First Post

Hello! I am new to all of this. My name is Whitney, I'm 25 years old, 242 lbs, and I have struggled with my weight since I was 10 years old. I have been off and on dieting for most of my life--the same ol' lose twenty pounds, gain back thirty, never taking it as seriously as I should. The last few months has changed my attitude about getting healthy. I got married in December, and looking at the photos taken of me on my wedding day, I was totally in shock at just how big I looked. I suppose that I have a case of reverse body dis-morphia. looking in the mirror, I never saw how big I have actually become in the last year. The biggest change of heart is that I was diagnosed with PCOS and insulin resistance. The last few weeks, I have been experiencing symptoms of type 2 diabetes, and it has really scared me. I want so badly to have children soon, but I know that it won't be easy (or even possible) if I don't lose this weight. I have started a new diet--replacing two meals a day with Slimfast shakes and then a reasonable dinner. It's not easy, but I think it is slowly working for me. I'm glad to have found this forum to be able to talk openly and honestly with other people struggling the same way that I am. I have a hard time talking to anyone else in my life. My husband has a tendency to just say "well...go work out, you'll lose weight" and that's it. I love him, but he doesn't understand the emotional side of weight loss. Most of my close friends are the kind of people who can sit around and eat fast food for three meals a day and never gain a pound. My best friend just visited me for four days, I told her the day she came that I was really trying hard to stick with this new diet. Her idea of support was enjoying a hardy diet of Nutty Bars (my favorite junk food), Pizza, and beer, the ENTIRE time she was here. She says "wel