Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 12-30-2012, 07:37 AM   #1  

Red face Hi all! New here.

Hey guys!

I'm a newbie. I thought I'd introduce myself... (sorry, it's really long!)

I'm a 22 year old female from Australia. I have always been a "bigger" girl (although, looking back, I really think I just "developed" earlier than most girls so was regarded as "large" compared to the skinny girls at age 11 who had not gone through puberty). My weight really ballooned when I was about 15. It coincided with a diagnosis of depression and the start of my journey on antidepressants. I have nothing against antidepressants - they saved my life back then, but they also had a very nasty side effect of weight gain.

I am a comfort eater - always have been, my mum is too so I guess I learnt early on to gain comfort from food. So naturally my weight increases at times of high stress.

I started going off antidepressants under the watchful eye of my psychiatrist on 26 January 2012 (Australia Day!) and suffered through many months of really nasty withdrawals. I managed to get completely off them about half way through 2012. I graduated from University at this time with a Bachelor of Science (major in Psychology) and was faced with the prospect of looking for a professional job which was when I really started to realize that I was very unhappy with my weight. Coming off antidepressants, I managed to lose about 7kg (15lb) because I had extreme nausea for a number of months.