Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 06-20-2012, 11:57 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 311/301/150

Height: 5"6"

Default New to 3FC, and looking for support

I am new to 3FC, but I have been dieting since I was a teenager. I am now 35 years old, and I still haven't been able to take the weight off. I have done every diet out there, and spent thousands of dollars doing them. My most recent attempt was 1 1/2 years on Weight Watchers, in which I only lost 11 pounds. I have been off of WW for 2 months, and I have maintained that loss.

I am here looking for support. My family's idea of support is to tell me how fat I am. My husband is supportive, but he just doesn't understand what I am going through. My doctor recently put me on Phentermine to help with my appetite. I love it, and it has helped me cut my calories by about 500 a day. But somehow I am still not losing weight. I don't want to give up, but I have a pattern of doing so at this point. I am hoping that by reading other's successes and struggles will help me get past this feeling, and in turn help me meet my goal.

Trina
trf0ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:32 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 185/177/150

Height: 5'2

Hi, Trina! I'm new as well, although I'm only 16.

I can relate to the family with their idea of using insults as "support." My parents are supportive of me however, yet my grandparents are just so negative about me losing weight.

I am also the harshest critic of my own body. I've made excuses for myself, felt sorry for myself, and cried over how I looked. I'm learning self-acceptance, right now. And, I'm doing this for myself, and not for others.

I've personally tried WW, and I lost about 8 lb. I had a 3 month subscription, but I only used it for one month (school got in the way) and I gained 15 lb.

Today's actually my birthday, and to celebrate, I'm joining my local Planet Fitness so that way I can become mentally and physically healthier!