Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 06-20-2012, 09:27 PM   #1  
Losing to live longer.

S/C/G: 278/ticker/125

Height: 5'5"

Default Hallo from a lupus sufferer

Hello all, I live in the midwest and I have, like many of you, been obese since I was a child. In retrospect, I think I was a healthy weight at some point in my childhood, I just don't ever remember it because I have this really bad image of myself.

I lost 13 lbs but then went up and now I am trying to stay steady at 7 lb loss. It's hard with my lupus because it makes me so tired that I can't work out, for example, today is an exhaustion day, and I haven't been out of bed much, joints hurting a little .

I joined the 100lb club forum but decided maybe I should introduce myself here too, I like to cook (baking is my talent), I see a therapist, and I recently started a blog, but I am not sure if we are allowed to post those links?

I was a student but the lupus was diagnosed for me around then, turned out that it wasn't just some "muscle aches" and I had to leave to get better, I couldn't even pay attention in class because of the pain in my joints/muscles (if you are wondering about lupus, it is an autoimmune disease that attacks your joints and muscles and makes you really sensitive to the sun, in extreme cases it leads to organ failure). My life has been full of insane frustrations, and I have tried a LOT of ways to lose weight (never diet pills), I have found that the only way is to try to cut as many things you can live with without making you crazy.

I cut out full fat milk and changed it for fat free, I can't stay away from cheese but I bought those single serve string cheeses and only eat one. We cook with extra light tasting olive oil, etc. I have gone astray many many times, but overall I am trying my best to eat healthy while still having some indulgences over the weekend.