Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 04-16-2012, 02:30 PM   #1  
ShrinkTheShrink!

S/C/G: 152/152/85

Height: 4'11"

Default I'm new to this sort of thing...any advice would help!

Hi!

I've never done this before.

I was always a very active person. Throughout school and uni, I was part of dance teams, which meant practising for up to 6 hours a day! Once I finished my Masters, though, I got lazy. So incredibly lazy, I found myself making excuses to not exercise - every single day.

I'm still doing it! It frustrates me to know that in spite of studying psychology for the past 7 years, I'm unable to motivate myself! (Motivating other people is a breeze, though, FYI)

Let me say this right away - I don't have any trouble with eating. I don't have a sweet tooth, I don't eat too much salt, I don't "snack", I don't crave junk food, I don't stress-eat (is that a term? Or am I making stuff up again?), and I rarely eat out. Fruits and vegetables are a staple part of our cuisine (I'm Indian, and recently moved back in with my parents). All my meals are home-cooked, with little to no fat (again, a result of the cuisine).

Problem is, I've become lazy. I've lost all my stamina. I used to be able to dance non-stop for hours, but now, 3 minutes of cardio has me gasping for breath and feeling nauseous! It's embarrassing.

I cannot go to a gym, because my family will not allow it. Any exercise I do has to be done at home, with no equipment, and I know it's not going to be easy.

I have a small frame... I'm 4'11", and I weigh 69 kgs - which is 152 lbs! My doctor tells me I need to bring my weight down to 39 kgs (85.9 lbs), so I need to find a way to motivate myself.

I've done so much research on online support forums and the incredible effect it has on people, so I thought I'd give this a go!