Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 07-06-2011, 04:21 AM   #1  

Default Can I get some pearls please?

Hi—

I am pretty new to message boards so if I’m doing anything wrong—please feel free to point that out to me. =)

I’ve been reading around on this board for awhile and I think it’s a really neat idea. Good for all of you here! =)

Is anyone willing to discuss some emotional aspects of dealing with weight loss? I think I would find it helpful to hear stories from other folks about coping psychologically with losing weight—and perhaps get some advise on dealing with my own issues.

Here is what I am working on getting past. I am 27 and for the last several years I have realized that I’m perhaps emotionally and psychologically stunted in coping with my physical appearance...nothing special...just not sure how to go about moving forward. I don’t mean to whine—but I don’t really have anyone to relate this to.

From early childhood into my early 20s—I’ve always been any where from 40-100 lbs overweight. Though I was never teased or made to feel bad about it—I was always hyper sensitive to how others were treated for being even less overweight than me. I’d think—wow—that hurts me too because I am bigger than them. I was a very outspoken and outgoing kid—with many friends (most of whom remain friends to this day). I could always keep up physically because I was born athletic—a huge tomboy—and got along with just about every one.