Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-07-2010, 11:00 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 220/210/130

Height: 5'4.5"

Smile Hello :)

Hello, everyone! I'm new to 3FC and just wanted to say hello, introduce myself and ask for a little advice.

So, I might as well start at the beginning! I'm Julie and I've always been one of those people who had what I call "good vision" - by that, I mean I always saw myself as skinnier than I really was. Recently, my good vision has faded and I'm thinking that I'm finally ready to do this! Hopefully I don't get too busy with school to do this right.

I'm a graduate student and I work as a teacher of labs at a university. I want to do get started on this so that I can walk across the stage for my MS a lighter, healthier person. I don't know if I'll reach my goal weight by then - but anything is better than nothing, right?

Next up, I have a couple of questions for everyone here. I've been looking into diets for a while and I'm thinking of starting Atkins. I love pasta, a lot, but I think this diet seems like I could do it for the long run. Does anyone have any advice about it to get started?

Another question I have is in regards to exercise. I like to work-out at home - mainly because I don't like to run back and forth to the gym. I'm self conscious when I'm at the gym because my face gets so red (even when I'm just starting out!) and everyone constantly asks me if I'm OK. I'm glad everyone is so nice, but I just can't take being the fat kid at the gym that looks like they're going to pass out! Haha. So, do any of you have some exercise DVDs or tapes that you do that work for you? I want a lot of variety, so I don't know if I'm looking for a program for exercise per say or if I'm just looking for a hodge-podge so that I can do whatever I feel like that day. Is that even effective? I don't even know! I already walk at least 1 mile every week day (walking back and forth to school), but it's not doing as much as I want it too.