Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 12-24-2007, 02:16 AM   #1  
Queen Yo-yo

S/C/G: 185/169.2/135

Height: 5'4"

Default The second "freshman fifteen" doesn't sit so well...

Ladies and gents, three and a half years ago... I thought I was fat.

Newly graduated from high school, I was self-conscious of my 137 lb frame to the extent of a certain degree of self hatred. Then I went to university and lived in the vending-machine that is residence... well. Let's just say I look back on myself in pictures and only WISH that I knew back then how good I really had it.

I'm now in my third year of university, and every single year I've lived in residence, first as a student, and now as a "Resident Assistant"-- basically, I get paid to live there and make sure the first years don't.. you know, set the building on fire, or kill themselves/each other. The problem with residence though.. is the vending machines, and the cafeterias... I don't even have to leave the current building I live in to get a burger and fries and soda and crap. I totally lack the motivation to go to the gym on a regular basis since I find exercise tedious for the most part... =/

THEN I lived in Ireland for four months this past summer where I learned that you don't go for coffee in Galway with friends, you go for a pint. And boy did Guinness and I become close friends. Averaging three casual pints a day does not do much for the wallet or the waistline.

I thought that coming home for the holidays would encourage a bit of weight loss since my mother doesn't tend to keep anything with sugar in the house, and she doesn't eat anything with gluten in it so that's not around either. The woman is a health fanatic and a fitness instructor.