3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Ideal Protein Diet (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/ideal-protein-diet-236/)
-   -   Maintainers with PCOS (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/ideal-protein-diet/275811-maintainers-pcos.html)

rubygirl05 02-15-2013 10:52 PM

Maintainers with PCOS

Hello, I'm new to 3FC and on the verge of joining/starting the IR protocol.

I have read the various pinned FAQ threads, which are helpful but also kind of overwhelming.

I have had PCOS for 10+ years and am considering the IR protocol as a last resort. I have never been able to lose weight despite eating properly and exercising. I hate to go down this expensive path and have it all be for nothing.

My questions are:
  • Have you been able to successfully maintain your weight loss, depsite having PCOS?
  • Did your PCOS symptoms go away or lessen after losing weight?

Thanks!

meena 02-17-2013 10:19 PM

Ruby Girl,
I have PCOS too. What I understand from this diet is that it resets your system completely - once you're done, you'll no longer have PCOS.
I started 6 weeks ago, lost 22 lbs, but I think my system has already regularized. I am off Metformin, and feeling great.

IP43 02-17-2013 10:48 PM

Really? I'll be curious and excited if that is so, but I really doubt it. PCOS is a hormonal issue, and while the diet helps, I can't imagine that it will cure my PCOS. If I'm wrong, it will be with great joy! I've never heard it will cure it. I've heard it HELPS with symptoms, but would love to believe otherwise. Where did you hear it will cure PCOS?

Ilovesugar 02-18-2013 04:13 AM