Old 01-25-2016, 08:14 PM   #46  
oneuh2

S/C/G: reboot 1/10/2023 238/175/160

Height: 5'4"

I think all IP references to quantity are before cooking....
oneuh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 12:10 PM   #47  

S/C/G: 185.8/138.6/135.8

Height: 5' 2"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmbshl View Post
Are the measurements for rice and pasta before cooking or after cooking?
I'm not an expert and have not verified this with a coach (doing it on my own with the help of this forum) but I would have to say the measurements for the pasta, rice, oatmeal and couscous are weights AFTER cooking unlike the measurements for protein and vegetables listed.

For example 5 oz of cooked brown rice is about 150 cal and 32 carbs. Where as 5 oz of dry rice before cooking is about 500 cal and 110 carbs.

I can't imagine the mean for you to have the later. Hope that helps.

Last edited by maybeface; 01-26-2016 at 12:11 PM.
maybeface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 06:09 PM   #48  

S/C/G: 163/150/132

Height: 5'8" 173 cm 57 yrs old

Quote:
Originally Posted by maybeface View Post
I'm not an expert and have not verified this with a coach (doing it on my own with the help of this forum) but I would have to say the measurements for the pasta, rice, oatmeal and couscous are weights AFTER cooking unlike the measurements for protein and vegetables listed.

For example 5 oz of cooked brown rice is about 150 cal and 32 carbs. Where as 5 oz of dry rice before cooking is about 500 cal and 110 carbs.

maybeface is correct, bmbshl, according to my Alternative sheet - although mine is in grams (Canadian).
canadjineh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 06:05 AM   #49  

S/C/G: 255/216/170

Height: 5'9"

Quote:
Originally Posted by maybeface View Post

Thanks! That's exactly why I asked. Huge difference between pre and post cooking. I cooked up 5 oz dry pasta and thought "there's no way I can eat much!". Greatly appreciate the response.