3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   General Diet Plans and Questions (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/general-diet-plans-questions-10/)
-   -   Count Calories OR NET calories?? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/general-diet-plans-questions/282999-count-calories-net-calories.html)

tarabella 06-05-2013 03:52 AM

Count Calories OR NET calories??

Hi, I posted this question elsewhere to, but just found this area. I am relatively new to counting calories and I'm not sure if I should aim for between 1,200-1,500 calories TOTAL, or 1,200-1,500 NET calories...Am I sabotaging my efforts by going the net calorie route, or is it right for fueling good workouts??
Any feedback appreciated. Thanks!

QuilterInVA 06-11-2013 11:47 AM

I exercise to lose more weight so I do not eat back my exercise calories.

kaplods 06-11-2013 11:58 AM

Without expensive lab equipment you cannot accurately calculate net calories, but you don't have to. Start anywhere you want to on the calorie spectrum, because only your results can tell you whether or not eating back your estimated exercise calories is a mistake.

Also to be precise, your net calories for the day is the total calories you take in minus everything you burn, so if your net calories are not zero or less, you will gain.

To calculate true net calories, you need to know what your body is burning during the entire day, not just during exercise.

You don't have to do any math if you just pick a moderate calorie level, observe your results and modify accordingly according to your goals.

tarabella 07-05-2013 01:56 AM

I am still confused, when I log my exercise on My Fitness Pal it says I can eat more... Or is that what you mean by eating back my exercise calories Susan?

Maybe that's why I am not losing any weight...Ha.
I guess I will change to not entering in my exercise at all, and just stick to 1,300 calories.