Gluten and Obesity

• Yep...there is a connection. There are many websites about gluten intolerance/allergy and celiac disease. These things can cause alot of different symptoms. One thing that it can cause is weight gain. You are addicted to carbs (yikes) but you aren't getting the nutrients from them so you eat more cause your body tells you to...then guess what? You gain weight. The leaky gut as it is known...causes toxins in your body and slows your metabolism.

Google celiac and symptoms and see if you have the symptoms. I am not a doctor and I have not even been tested for this but I do believe I have it. I am just trying to follow a gluten-free diet and I do feel better. It's a healthy diet anyway so it doesn't hurt.

If you feel bloated and get a "Buddha belly" (grins) after eating breads, cereal, etc...then you could be gluten intolerant. Also, a tired, sleepy feeling.

Dr. Oz also did a show recently with Elisabeth Hasselbeck from the view and it had some good info about gluten...but there is more info out there.

I just thought I would mention this.. LIke I said.. I'm just going on a "gut" feeling (no pun intended) hehe! that I dont handle gluten well and thought that someone else may have similar symptoms and would want to research this for themselves. I plan to see a doc about this but have to get through the Holidays and some other stuff first.... have a great day fellow chicks and guys!
  • I've quit most grains this week to see if it helps me. I've read threads on other forums where people said that they didn't start losing weight until they quit grains. I did get a test for wheat allergy and I do have a slight allergy. I also quit sugar this week. It was painful going through the grocery store yesterday and having to read every ingredient and figure out what I can have.
  • Certain things bother me but other things don't. I eat a fair amount of whole grains. If I eat white bread though, I feel bloated and icky.