General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 10-14-2012, 12:54 AM   #1  

Default Slowed Metabolism?!

I am 5'1 and I weigh 102 pounds. I know I don't need to lose weight but I would like to lose some fat and firm up a bit. I burn about 1800 calories per day and I consume 1350 calories per day. This puts me at a calorie deficit of about 450 calories per day. I have literally been eating 1350 calories and burning about 1800 for about 4 months and I only have a 5 pound weight loss to show for it. What is going on?

I know the most obvious explanations it that I am not counting right. I really am very meticulous with measuring my food and I have gotten very good at estimating calories in food prepared by someone else. I usually only eat food I made myself though because I want my count to be as accurate as possible. I am a college student and I live about 3/4 of a mile from campus. Everyday I walk back and forth from my house to my campus twice while carrying a backpack (which is also up a hill). I also walk for about an hour in addition to the trek to and from campus. I go to the gym 2 or 3 times per week. I typically run for about 20 minutes and then lift weights for 30 minutes. Based on my lifestyle I have to be burning at least 1800 calories per day. If anything I am underestimating how much I am burning and overestimating how much I am eating.

Did my metabolism slow down from being at a calorie deficit for so long? I just cant understand how I should be losing a little less than a pound per week but have been completely weight stable for months. Its so frustrating.
julie14401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:50 AM   #2  
Renaissance Woman

S/C/G: 363/306/185

Height: 5'10.5"