A question about bifocals.

• Last fall my eye doctor put me in no-line bifocal lenses (not a cheap lens). I wore them every day for two weeks, but I could not adjust. I went back to my old prescription. Has anyone else tried bifocals and couldn't wear them? I am definitely starting to have problems with my near vision. I am considering getting a seperate pair of reading glasses. Has anyone else tried this? I have also thought about getting the old fashioned lined bifocal. I think this would give me a much larger area of in focus distance vision. Can anyone compare their experience with no-line bifocals and lined bifocals?

Thanks.

Donna
  • My husband had issues but only because his lense was too small. He went to a bigger lense and a different type of no-line bifocal. His issues went away. Have you talked to the optometrist about your issues? They may have some recommendations on fixing the issue.
  • I used to work as a certified optician. If you had trouble adjusting, you should try a better quality lens and/or have them check your measurements. The cost is high, but your quality of vision will be sooooo much better than with a lined bifocal. People think that they will get more lens area to see through with a lined bifocal, but they are incorrect because the Rx is not correct over the entire surface area of the lens. When you start with your lens blank, which is a giant circle that will be cut to fit the frame, the Rx is in the center of the lens. If you deviate from the center, you create prism in the lens, which distorts the image. This means that if your measurements are off or if you move your glasses from where they were measured to sit you will experience distortion. As a result, when you have a large lens in your glasses you do not actually have that entire surface area to see through. Your brain/eyes automatically figure out where to look through, though improper measurements may make this impossible. In addition, the bifocal area of a lined bifocal is